Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Advise me on VR/360 video editing build

Hello everyone! First time posting here, happy to move this to a different sub-forum is there's a better spot for it.

I'm looking to build a custom system that will enable me to generate stereoscopic 360 photo and video content, and possibly other VR content in the future. I'm an active photographer and filmmaker, but 360/VR is new territory for me. I've given myself a budget of $5k USD, hopefully for the VR rig, the 360 stereoscopic camera, and 360 audio recorder as well, but if I need to make a separate budget for the camera and recorder that's fine too. I'm the patient type and happy to buy/build this piecemeal, taking advantage of sales and promos.

I currently use Adobe Lightroom 6, Adobe Premiere CC, and DaVinci Resolve 12.5 for my creative projects. I know Premiere now supports 360 stereo video, not sure about Resolve, and I'm open to using other editing and post processing software as well.

I'll probably continue to work in non-360 photo and video as well, but I figure any system that can handle 360 will be able to handle traditional content with ease. My system's primary purpose will be to run the above software and any 360/VR specific software that's needed, and secondarily I would like it to be able to handle some games, as I expect I'll experiment with VR games once the system is up and running. I don't currently have any VR games, but I would like the system to be able to handle some 3D heavy games like Cities: Skylines, Resident Evil 6, Devil May Cry 4, and Grand Theft Auto V.

Here's what I currently have available:
    - Microsoft Surface Pro 3 - this I'll likely continue to use for my IT consulting work and general interneting, but I would like a 24" or larger screen to dedicate to it.
    - Microsoft Surface Pro 2 - I'm interesting in turning this into a touch screen and pen input for the system if that's an option